Tyler Rippee, Jim Wacker, and Ian Carpenter named Special Olympics Vermont award winners

1 min read

FRANKLIN — Recently at the annual State of Inclusion Conference, Tyler Rippee, Jim Wacker and Ian Carpenter were named 2019 Special Olympics Vermont award winners.

Tyler Ripee was named Athlete of the Year, as a result of his great improvement and sportsmanship.

Organizers say Ripee has made continuous progress since he started three years ago at the Special Olympics.

Jim Wacker has been awarded the Head of the Delegation of the Year award as a recognition of his volunteering and coordinating efforts for the last nine years in Addison.

His work was recognised local and state level, and Vermonts’ Special Olympics says they have benefited from his work.

Ian Carpenter was named Unified Athlete of the Year, as a result of his work in 5 school based Unified sports, VPA Unified basketball, and three High school sports, as well as the UVM’s fitness club.

Carpenter is a true role model for the community, in Bellows Free Academy St. Albans and beyond.